About My Academic Self

Well… I’m still waiting on the set of MCAT books that I mentioned in my last post. They were supposed to arrive on the 12th but according to the USPS website, it states the 20th. So we’ll see. I’ll be starting summer school on July 5th so I will only have a about two weeks to look over the books. I mean, I’ll be taking the MCAT in 2018 so there really is no rush.

I’m going to separate the About Myself post into two sections. My next post will be about my personal background and this post will be about my academic background. My name is Connie and I’m a senior at UHWO. I graduated from KCC in 2012 with an A.S. in Information Technology along with 3 certificates. After graduating, I took a break for school to focus on a business that I started a few semesters before graduating. I ran the business from 2012 to 2014 which was when we closed our doors for good. After closing the business, I graduated from a Nurse Assistant program at the American Red Cross. I decided to go back to school in the Fall of 2015 to complete my B.A.S. in Information Technology because it was the safest and fastest way to attend graduate school. I calculated that I will need to complete 4 more semesters to attain my Bachelors degree so I’ve been attending ever since. I’ll be starting my 3rd semester in August BUT I will also be attending the second summer session this July (which is in a few weeks). I realized that I was short two classes so the only way to take them both and graduate on schedule was to attend this summer session. I’m already enrolled at UHWO and I have my books ready for the summer. A few weeks ago, I saw an academic advisor for pre-med students at UH Manoa. We came up with a timeline along with classes that I would need to take to enter JABSOM. After graduating with my Bachelors I will need to enroll at UH Manoa as a post-bach student. I will be starting my journey to med school in May of next year (2017). Be sure to read my next post about my personal background. Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment